Essentials of Divorce Laws in Utah According to a Utah Divorce Attorney

A marriage may be a lifetime bond between two individuals; however, some couples inevitably grow apart. One or both parties may make married life difficult for the other until they have no choice but to seek legal help. For example, if a husband beats up his wife constantly, she can consult a Utah criminal lawyer to file for a divorce.

Legally speaking, a divorce is the dissolution of a marriage. In jurisdictions like Utah, a court of law must certify a divorce for it to take effect. Once it has, both parties regain their “single” civil status, and they are free to marry other individuals. In general, there are several grounds for divorce in the United States.

Couples typically cite irreconcilable differences when seeking divorce. These include personality conflicts, financial problems, frequent serious arguments, mutual resentment, prolonged distance between the two parties, and so on. A lot of couples who cannot settle their differences find that it’s probably best for them to just go their separate ways.

Infidelity on the part of either spouse is another reason often cited. Still, others file for divorce on the basis of spousal neglect, particularly when one party is dependent upon the other, or when one feels constantly taken for granted by their spouse. Certain health problems like impotence or insanity can make a marriage difficult, so permanent separation may also be the best solution.

Before two people can get a divorce, they must first fulfill certain residency requirements. Under Utah law, at least either spouse should be a resident of Utah three months before the divorce case is filed. If there are issues with a minor child in custody, the child must stay with one parent in Utah for at least six months, with exceptions as enumerated by the Utah divorce attorney. The spouse who files the divorce is known as the petitioner, while the other is legally called the respondent.

The petitioner, with the help of the attorney, files the divorce papers and petition. These papers must be served to the respondent not later than 120 days or 4 months after they were filed. The respondent, in turn, has 20 days after receipt of the divorce papers to answer the petition. If the respondent answers, both of them need to disclose a Financial Declaration to each other; otherwise, the courts grant the petitioner what he/she wants without hearing the respondent’s side.

While the divorce case is ongoing, the couple may ask the courts to give them a temporary order. These temporary orders, as enumerated by the Utah divorce lawyer, include child custody and support. Whatever reasons one cites for divorcing a spouse, the help of a divorce lawyer will prove invaluable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>